Character Options

Your Character the Way You Want

One of the biggest strengths our game has is the sheer variety of character possibilities that are out there.  From the first steps of character creation, to the journey of your character throughout level progression, to the ability to customize the equipment you find or even make yourself, there are literally infinite possibilities as to what your character is and can become.A Multitude of Character Options on d20MUD
  1. Character Creation:
    You begin by choosing a name and a gender, and from there you can choose from 26 Canonical Star Wars Races.  From there you choose your force affinity (light side, neutral or dark side), allocate your ability score points into your ability scores (strength, dexterity, intelligence, etc).  Then you choose a description for your character that others will see when they see or interact with you.  Finally you take your first level, choosing between 6 base classes.
  2. Level Progression:
    Each level you are able to further improve your character along the path of your choosing.
    • ​​Class:
      You can choose between 6 base classes, and are able to unlock through role play (see below) another 13 prestige classes.  Your character can have up to 3 classes, and you can decide which class to progress in each level.
    • Skills:
      Your character has 18 skills to choose from, from acrobatics, to combat tactics to force aptitude.  Each skill has at least one function, some have many.  You may allocate your skill points among these skills.  The number of skill points you gain each level is based on your class and intelligence score.  You may also use skill points to unlock and be able to speak and understand up to 22 species languages.
    • Feats:
       Feats allow your character to gain new abilities, improve existing ones, or add passive bonuses or benefits to existing character attributes.  Feats are broken down into class feats, epic feats and regular feats.  Class feats are restricted to your class (with some overlap among similar prestige classes), whereas regular feats can be taken by anyone.  Epic feats are only available when you reach level 30, and generally these feats are significantly more powerful than regular feats. There are hundreds of feats implemented with more being added all the time.
    • Ability Scores:
       As your character levels up, occasionally you will gain the ability to increase your base ability scores (strength, dexterity, etc.).
  3. Role Playing:
    Role play is optional, but encouraged, and incentivised.  Through role play you are able to gain rp points, which can be used to unlock certain bonuses for your account (spread among all characters you own), such as advanced races (Noghri, Hutt, Assassion Droid, etc.), prestige classes (jedi knight, sith apprentice, bounty hunter, commando, etc.) as well as being able to boost and improve gear that you own, and some other misc. benefits.  As long as your rp point total exceeds a certain threshold, you will also gain a bonus to experience gained through killing mobs, and other methods of obtaining experience.
  4. Player vs. Player Combat:
     Player vs. player combat is fun and exciting on d20MUD.  PvP is usually optional, with interested parties turning on a pvp-enable-flag.  However every 3 hours is faction hour, wherein everyone is a potential target, with the only safe zones being the various cantinas across the galaxy (unless you're Han Solo or Greedo).  At any time, for pvp both the winner and loser gain rewards in exp as well as being able to unlock feats only obtainable through pvp.  Dying in pvp will never result in the loss of money, equipment or inventory items.  It's win-win, and during pvp-hour or faction-hour, these bonuses are doubled!
  5. Crafting:
    Anyone is able to pick up a crafting trade and create their own gear.  By gathering datachips across the galaxy when harvesting for materials or dropped by a mob kill, artisans can turn an item mold into an item of that type, with attributes designated by the datachip used, with the item having the description and 'look' desired by the crafter.  Not only that, but artisans can level up and create more powerful gear than can be found through normal levelling.

What Our Players Are Saying:

"D20MUD: Star Wars is one of the most feature-heavy MUDs out there. Very true to her d20 roots! The game also reminds me a lot of my favorite MMORPG: Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic. Am and always will be a fan!"
-- Zusuk 

"This is, bar none, the best Star Wars themed MUD in existence. They really captured the essence of the d20 System with this one. 5 out of 5 stars."
-- Fekk

More Player Testimonials

"D20mud is the best mud I've played in my 20 years of fingering a keyboard. It has everything any mudder could want and then some. From pvp to rich and interesting areas, mobs, class structure, to staff who are the most patient, fair, and helpful I've ever seen and player involvement in the direction the mud takes...I love it, and will always be as involved in it as life lets me be."
-- Rakhsasa

Read More Testimonials